Members Drag APC, Chairman For Declaring Matawalle Party Leader In Zamfara

Some aggrieved members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have dragged Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State and two others for appointing newly defected Bello Matawalle as the leader of the party in Zamfara.
Recall that speaking while welcoming Matawalle to APC, Buni, the Chairman of the National caretaker committee of the APC, said the Zamfara governor would remain the leader of the party, while the party exco in the state has been dissolved.

According to PeoplesGazette, an originating summons by the party members argued that Buni lacked the power to singlehandedly dissolve a duly appointed state working committee before the expiration of their four-year tenure.

They asked the court to nullify the appointment, stating that the development violates Articles (III), (VI), and (VII) of the APC constitution.

The APC members also urged the court to mandate INEC to deal directly with the dissolved state’s working committee pending the conduct of the party’s national congress.

Naija News reports that a former governor of Zamfara, Abdulaziz Yari and Senator Kabir Marafa had both rejected Matawalle as the party leader.

According to the duo, they had earlier met with six governors from the APC to discuss the conditions upon which Matawalle would be accepted into the party.

“It is one thing we do not agree with, where Governor Mai Mala said [Matawalle is the leader of the APC] because he is not in our discussions with six governors,” they said.

“What we agreed on was to go and launch Bello first and return to negotiations.

“What we agreed on is what we would give in the party and what we would take in government.

“But when we went there, there was a controversy and we found that there was a plan, some said, the party was to be disbanded.

“The party cannot be destroyed because no one has the power to destroy it.”

The suit was filed by Ibrahim Kofa, Abdul’aziz Dan Maliki, Tafa Nassarawa, Umar Abdullahi Dan Maigadi, Abubakar Tijani Dan Ayya, Bala Kaura, Lawal Suleiman, Abdullahi Sani Dan Azumi, and Babangida Abdullahi.

Notice: Trying to get property 'term_id' of non-object in /www/wwwroot/ on line 999
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top